Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

hey guys newbie here looking for some advice...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hey guys newbie here looking for some advice...

... from experienced tarantularers....

my name is mike as you can tell anyway i have had a chile rose for about 14 years now... it wasnt a spiderling when i bought but was quite young when i bought it, probably less than a year old

anyway, i have had many other breeds over the years including a pink toe, salmon pink, goliath, red rump, etc... have bought a lot from dr bob bustard, this chile rose was the first spider i bought and its the only one left now!

but i recently rehoused it from the tank which it had been living in for many years, and it doesnt seem to be eating much... usually feed it black crickets... i know it will have to refamiliarize itself with its new surroundings but i am just worried, is this normal behaviour? any advice

thanks

HI
    It's really not uncommon for G.rosea to stop feeding, sometimes for many months, it may be due to it being rehoused or just rosea being rosea, i would say nothing to worry about, i have never seen a T starve it's self to death try feeding on a weekly basis, if the food remains uneaten after 24 hoursi would remove it and retry in a week or so.
    regards
    phil
    www.thetarantulastore.net

Comment

I can say for sure if it was anywhere near a year old, it would still look like a small pink sling....

More likely 3 years old if it were a small version of the adult spider going by looks...

Comment

James Campbell>>
        I can say for sure if it was anywhere near a year old, it would still look like a small pink sling....

More likely 3 years old if it were a small version of the adult spider going by looks...
        I would totaly agree with that.

When my Rosehair stoped feeding a few years back i just upped the temp of her tank and she very rarely fails to eat now. (she's a pig) hehe