X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locusts

Hi,

I am pretty new to spiders so maybe silly question:
    I have been feeding my spiders, locusts (i always have locusts anyway because i feed them to my frogs, i prefer them to crickets because they don't tend to escape and are easier to hande) is there any problems with feeding locusts to spiders ? (at the moment i rotate between locusts and crickets)

Also again probably a silly question; I feed my locusts / crickets organic vegetables and stuff, because i am scared of pestisides affecting my spiders. Is that just me being paranoid,? or can spiders be affected by the small ammounts of pestisides, in normal vegetables? (i read that spiders are quiet sensitive to pestisides).

thanks,

Joost

The spiders will eat any insect they can overpower and kill.. locusts included.

In fact, i'd prefer them to crickets, as they are vegitarian, so you dont have to worry about them taking a bite out of a moulting spider.

With regards to the pesticides, yes i think they can build up in a spiders body, i never worried about what i fed my crickets / locusts, but i can see your point.

I find fish flakes or cat/dog biscuits make great food for crickets and roaches though. Never had much luck with feeding locusts.
    And he piled upon the whale's white hump, the sum of all the rage and hate felt by his whole race. If his chest had been a cannon, he would have shot his heart upon it.

Comment

Hiya Joost

I prefer using locusts too, (however for some unknown reason
      they dont seem to last long in my care)
      but i use crickets aswell.
      when i feed the locusts i just make sure that
      i give the food a good wash beforehand.

i never thought of a build up of pestisides in the spider
      maybe some of the more expert members could
      offer their opinion on that one.

'A Woman's Prayer: