mealworms??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mealworms??

i was wondering if there is more than 1 type of mealworm??

the reason im asking is that i feed alot of mealworms to my Cane Toad and ive started to give 1 or 2 to my sling, but ive noticed that some of them are starting to look different to the rest. they are alot bigger and are dark and stripey.

is there much difference between these ones and the normal ones that i have??

thanks in advance

lee smith
    Reptile Rescue Hull Volunteer,
    Invert Rescue Hull manager,

A.avicularia, G.rosea, B.smithi, B.albopilosa
    P.murinus, H.lividum, L.parahybana, C.cyaneopubescens

Are the big stripey ones what they call tigerworms or superworms?
    My Collection: - Spiders are everywhere, so live with it
    Ray Gabriel

Comment

Im no expert on mealworms, there nasty little buggers though and will readily bite when they get that bit bigger. I got some to feed to my Chameleon and they crawled out of the feeder and ate there way into the rear of his vivarium. We had to strip it down completely to get rid of them. As I said they can bite, and to be honest I personally would'nt give them to one of my spiders. My scorpions however seem to enjoy them, They have an advantage of being able to hold the mealworm in there claws and then knock them out with their sting. I have one, which likes to carry them round like a trophy and "show" his living companions!

Most amusing!!
      Everyones an Expert! "Ex" is a has been - "spurt" is a strong gush of water! You decide............................

Comment

I used to have a green anole and I would feed it mealworms all the time. The little lizard enjoyed them but they turn into beetles which he didnt bother with(Ts im not sure of)
        My Collection: - Spiders are everywhere, so live with it
        Ray Gabriel

Comment