Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What shall i get.

Hi to all,
    Thinking about getting another T, And as a begginer ????? I have a A. Chalcodes, and a B. Smithi. Now i am wondering,
    . I do fancy a P. Fasciata, or Regalis but i do like my fingers. What do you suggest. And by the way, what do you do when bitten.??

usually you say ..... " OW !! "

Comment

Hi Richard

I'm relatively new to the hobby and have jumped in both feet as always.
      I started with the beginner species (B, albopilosum, B, smithi etc) but within a month or two I had in my grubby little mitts a selection of Pokies and a P, murinus!!

I sought advice before jumping in with both these feet and the general consensus was treat them with a bit of respect and appreciate they are fight or flight creatures and you'll be fine.
      The only scary bit for me was transfering them from their transport tubs to their new homes as they were quite skittish from the ordeal of their journey. Once they were in and settled and had webbed up they were peachy!

I think it's really a case of just use your head and be a bit more careful when doing anything with them that's all.

If you want to be really sensible then go for another pretty arboreal but with a lot less attitude and pick up an Avicularia versicolour. These are stunning little spiders and although fast too at the size I have one (1-2cm) they're little sweeties! (Very pretty too!)

Comment

If you are heading toward arboreal i would recommend A Avic or A Versi as a reasonably good starting point. As Johanna says the versi's a very nice looking spider, The A Avic is my personal favorite and in my experience has the most entertaining personallity and habits.
        An A Geniculata is a good choice for another terestrial, reasonably quick growers, get to a good size and are very good looking.