P. imperator question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P. imperator question

I have owned a P. imperator on its own for about a year now. Today I obtained another from someone who no longer wanted theirs (a kind of attitude that infuriates me; not for Christmas, for life!). Anyway I have had conflicting advice as to introducing the two conspecifics. One side said that it is not a good idea as they may fight and injure one another, another said that fighting is normal and they will, eventually, settle. So far there has been nothing more than one or two stand-offs. Claws have been open but noone has been bitten. And any scuffle has been short lived and without issue. I am 99% sure they are both female. Anybody got any advice.

John

I own 3 of these myself, 2 live together but they came together (male and female I believe). I am by no means an expert but from what I understand and have read about they are communal and they can live together if the enclosure is big enough and there are enough hides for them.
    B. boehmei - T. blondi - G. rosea x 5 -
    C. cyaneopubescens - N. chromatus -
    L. parahybana - H. maculata x 2 - G. aureostriata
    P. irminia - P. murinus

Comment

I have five adults living together in a 4ft x 1ft (floor space) enclosue, two males and three females.
      never had any problems, even through moulting when they're at their most vulnerable and have had successful breeding.
      I've heard from many that it's best to keep them in odd numbers but have, myself had both odd and even for long periods of time, again with no problems. from experience i've noted the more you have together the less interested they are in each other in general.

main two guidelines are....
      Lots of hide areas (although all five of mine tend to stay under the same bit of bark)
      lots of available food (both live and dead (try pieces of raw liver) as they like to scavenge)