First time breeding.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time breeding.

I plan to mate my Grammostola rosea female. Now i've never done this before. She moulted on Sunday 12th August. I've been away from home since the sunday after, but offered her food the day i left, which she refused. I'm home today so will start feeding her up.

I have borrowed a male (50/50) and am picking him up today.

My concern is though.. this female is nasty! She is only small, about 4" legspan, but she is like a P.murinus in a pink fluffy coat LOL Does this mean she is likely to attack the male?
    Obviously i'm waiting a while (about a month i'm advised?) to feed her up, let the male produce a sperm web etc before attempting to pair them. I'm going to be sitting watching constantly, with paintbrush and tweezers at the ready!!
    As she is nasty is it worth sharking him until she is interested? Obviously my highest interest is her NOT having him for dinner!

Also, jumping the band waggon a bit.. how long are these gravid for? How long is it before i can expect to be setting her up to lay the sac etc What are the triggers for this species? Cooling? Flooding? Warming up?
    Noob as you can tell hahaha

Any tips, breeding notes etc much appreciated!
    Many thanks
    Last edited by Rebecca Norris; 24-08-07, 05:45 AM.

I'll be watching this thread very carefully Rebecca, as breeding is something I would like to do too!

Kain

Comment

Hi Becky,

I can't give any advice from experience, but perhaps this thread may be of use:

Mike.

My Collection: - Support captive breeding

Comment

i'm curious about this too, in case my G. roseas turn out to be male and female!
        i bet Colin has alot of knowledge in this area.
        Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars... Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
        -Martin Luther King Jr.

<-Black Metal Contra Mundum->

Comment