X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• just introducin myself

hi im Rhys
    im new to the whole tarantula thing so please be patient with me lol
    i got a small smithi about the size of a ten pence peace, and i just baught some small crickets for him but he just doesnt seem interested does tha mean hes going to moult??
    when i was younger i was scared of tarantulas as most young children ar lol but when i was about 11, i went up my brothers house to find he had a huge collection of tarantulas,and then while he was movin holmes i had to look after 3 and ever since been very interested in them.looking to buy a new spiderling want something very calm and easy to care for any suggestions????

Hi Rhys.

Could be your T is just setting in. I had my first T in November and have just got T number 4. I have a chile rose that is very docile and a very good beginners spider. I've also got a Green Bottle Blue and a Mexican Red Rump and a tiny tiny B.smithi. People say the chile rose is boring because of its colour but I find them fascinating. I would recommend a chile rose to anyone fora first spider.
    Proud owner of 48 Tarantulas and other pets.

Comment

welcome Rhys, hope you enjoy it here!
      i agree with Patsy...though you do get some ferocious (ie feisty) rosea's, they are a great spider and generally docile. they may look dull in pictures, but they are beautiful beyond belief in person.
      other options could be Grammatola pulchra, a large beautiful black tarantula. hard to actually convey how gorgeous a plain black spider can be, but think of a black velvety cat with 8 legs and you won't be far off. perhaps a bit nippier than rosea (i've been pounced at once), but still nice.