look out, theres a newbie about!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• look out, theres a newbie about!

hi there everyone! newbie here! i recently got a t. blondi (i know, not the ideal 1st big spider - i like to jump in feet first!), and i was wondering if it would be ok to keep it on wood chippings as i already have 5 chilean rose spiderlings that seem to be thriving quite happily on them for the last 2 weeks. at the mo the blondi is on the peaty stuff that it came with, but ideally i would like to move it into a section of my large tank. the chippings are willow (not pine as that is obviously too sappy) and i dried them out in the oven thoroughly first to kill any mites etc then misted them well.

my second question concerns viewing my Ts. i keep a laaaarge tank in the outbuilding, partitioned off into many smaller sections for my various bugs heated with heatmats under the substrate, but because the outbuilding is cold a lot of condensation forms on the inside of the glass making it hard to see in. i dont like to keep opening the tops to wipe the glass as this compromises the interior temperature...
    heating the workshop is not really an option. i was wondering if there was anything that isnt harmful to Ts that i could spray on the inside of the glass (like the fog-away stuff i spray on my motorbike helmet visor to stop it misting up).

anyway, appologies for the long 1st post, i look foward to being on here a lot now! cheers, jon