Introduction & hopefully some help...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction & hopefully some help...

Hi, my names Craig & I'm new to the hobby.
    I got an adult female G. Rosea in March and she settled in really nicely, eating a locust every 3 or 4 days. Her substrate is coir with a flower pot hiding place and an open water dish. The temperature is around 25-28 degrees & humidity around 70%. When the locusts were gone I got her some crickets which she seemed to enjoy for a while before her eating seemed to slow. I wasn't worried as I'd heard G Rosea's very notorious for fasting long periods. She hasn't eaten for 3 or 4 weeks now, however she seems to be hungry. I offer her a locust every couple of days and she throws herself at it and appears to take a bite. However, she instantly withdraws and the locust is left unharmed. It's the same when I offer her crickets. Is it possible she's hungry but doesn't like crickets or locusts? I thought that seemed unlikely and either way I'm sure she'd eat if she was hungry enough. I thought maybe she was just being defensive but shes never aggressive with me. She hasn't moulted in the time I've had her and I'm not sure when her last moult was. She's about 3-4 inches legspan.

Any help with this would be great.

Thanks
    www.flickr.com/photos/craigmackay/sets

My Collection: - Support captive breeding

Here's a picture of her...
    Last edited by Craig Mackay; 14-11-08, 11:14 PM.

Comment

Hi Craig and welcome

More than likely she's coming up for a moult and see's the introduction of another animal in her tank as a threat or risk to her moulting process.
      Also one locust (i'm assuming "large") every 3-4 days is a fair amount and she may just not have the need to eat. All my adult rosea do very well on 1-2 large crickets every couple of weeks.

I would not offer her any food for about a fortnight and then try with a locust (which you said she seems to eat readily)