A genic Gestation and advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A genic Gestation and advice?

Hi can anyone give me an Idea of how long the gestation period for A. geniculata takes.
    It is my first attempt at breeding and it took a while but got a successful insertion on 11th June and the female is visibly bigger(hopefully gravid)
    Also any advice on things to have ready, how long to leave her with the sack, when to pull etc is very welcome.
    I have read that some T's first sack isnt always successful, does this depend on species or just luck?
    "madness is the gift thats been given to me"

Well I've done a bit of research David,

I read between 2 and 4 months gestation period depending on the temperature (2 higher, 4 lower). So realistically medium temp. (24-25 celsius) should be around 3 months. Also it is recommended not to leave the sac with the female more than a month after construction, as this species has a bad track record for eating their egg sacs. But then again depends on the individual spider I suppose. It said to artificially incubate the sac from 1 month until hatching.

Hope this is of use to you,

Michael.
    2xB.vagans, B.smithi, 2x L.parahybana, L.polycuspulatus, G.aureostriata, C.fasciatum, B.albopilosum, B.boehmei, P.pulcher, H.maculata, C.crawshayi, L.violaceopes, C.cyanopubescens, 3xP.irminia, 2xP.murinus RCF, 2xP.cambridgei, C.fimbriatus, C.schioedtei, A.pupurea, A.azuraklassi, A.versicolor, H.lividum, P.reduncus.

Comment

Many thanks for the info Michael, it's given me an insight to what I have coming(hopefully).
      I have also looked at some back issues of the BTS journal and found some very informative issues on incubating nymphs so fingers crossed I will be giving it a go.
      Thanks again

Comment