advice for newbie please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• advice for newbie please

hello, i'm new to the hobby and lookin forward to getting my first t i'm after a bit of advice about the set up, i'm thinkin of getting a B. Smithi, i have a glass tank with dimensions H8" W24" D12" and a heat matt of 12 watts. what is the best substrate for the Smithi and since i live in the isle of man it is very cold so i would need the matt on during the day, i've tried the heat matt but the tank temp does not get as high as i need, i'm using a dial thermometer and will get a digital one soon. Am i using the right wattage heat matt and at night should i drop the temp of the heat matt using a thermostat?
    any help would be gratefully received
    Stephen

Hi Stephen, welcome to the hobby! one thing you can do is attach polystyrene on the back of the heat mat, it should help reflect the heat back in and reduce heat loss out the back.
    i typically use coir (cocunut fibre), which you can get in bricks that swell and breakdown when water is added.
    many use compost, some use mixtures including peat and vermiculite as well as sand.
    the important thing is that it's chemical free. some don't advise using vermiculite alone because it's far from the natural substrate they'd have in the wild, but others disagree. also, you can mix it in if you like.
    the other thing to remember is B smithi like alot of Brachypelma's need to be kept dry, they don't appreciate humidity. so drying out the compost or coir first would be a good idea.

with regard to coir bricks, pet shops stock them usually, but i think you can get them from Wilkinsons or garden centres - just make sure it's chemically untreated.
    Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars... Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
    -Martin Luther King Jr.

<-Black Metal Contra Mundum->