surviving with molds (Penicillum)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• surviving with molds (Penicillum)

greetings. last week i have prepared very beautiful and natural looking enclosures for my Ts.

i went to the wilderness and gathered lots of kinds of woods and barks and twitches. i brought them home and sterilized them in the oven at 200 celsius.
    for a bout 10 minutes or something. for i am a food engineer, i know any kind of common molds (especially Penicillum) are killed in 10 minutes under that heating.

but today i saw greenish colonies, most likely Penicillum, like the ones on bread loaves. i am also uploading a picture. they grew under every piece of cork. where there is very low levels of oxygen and plenty of humidity.

now, sadly, if i have to get rid of them, i have to ruin all my GBB's webbings and also the beautifully decorated live mossed enclosure of my G. grossa.

please could you inform me about tarantulas living with mold colonies?
    are they really dangerous? they dont look so in my terrariums.
    what should i do ?

thank you for any info.

i have C. cyaneopubescens, G. grossa, B. vagans
    Attached Files

hi tugbay, i am always dubious about using anything straight from the outdoors to use in tanks. i occasionally use nice bits of bark that i find and like you did, i bake it first. for decorating purposes to bring a bit of colour and natural look, i tend to use sphagnum moss, works a treat. hope this helps
    THE SOUTH EAST ARACHNID SHOW, SUNDAY 29TH JANUARY, ASHFORD INTERNATIONAL HOTEL, JUNCTION 10 M20

My Collection: - Support captive breeding

Comment

Hi there,
      if I collect any interesting bark or pieces of wood I usually bake them in the oven
      at 200` for at least 2 hours, after sterilizing them in miltons fluid first,
      that way it reduces any risk of anything being alive,

probably over cautious but better safe than sorry

hope this helps
      I havent had any problems with any mould,

Comment