Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Arboreal Recommendations

Hi everyone,

A year after buying our L. Para, my husband is finally coming round to the idea of getting a 2nd spider (whereas personally I would have a houseful by now ..... but possibly no friends!)

He is quite keen on an arboreal T and I wondered if anyone had any suggestions for a good one to start with. Also, are there are special considerations for tank setup etc.

Cheers
    Jane

Pink toes would a good starter arboreal I would imagine (Avicularia Avicularia). They need higher humidity but also good ventillation to allow air to circulate. Alot of tanks can be converted to an arboreal set up by tilting it on it's side and making a few amendements to the lid etc.. Just give them a tall piece of bark to climb up and a water bowl, though they might build a webbed cocoon of their own to retreat to anyway. I'm a novice myself but I'd say Avics would be a better route to go down for a first arboreal rather than something like a Pokie. Both very quick spiders but Avics are nowhere near as defensive

Comment

Thanks Craig. I've had a quick look on tinterweb and that's pretty much the advice across the board.

What is the best height tank for an average adult? Just wondering if I could use something I've already got?

Comment

Chances are it will be fine, pink toes are one of the smaller T's. (4-5 inches as adults for most except for some of the less common species such as the goliath pinktoe). For what they lack in size they more than make up for in acrobatic agility, lol. My mate owns a few and his advice was to get a juvenile/sub adult if getting one for the first time as they can be quite sensitive to certain conditions when they're young. I love the Avicularia Versicolor - stunning!

Comment