Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Keeper! Please Help.

Hi there,

as you probably guessed i am new to keeping tarantulas and i just have a few questions.

pretty much everything is going great so far but my Chilean Rose just seems to sit in one spot of her tank, i'm using potting soil given to me by the pet shop owner. I've read that the soil should be pressed flat and then left to dry out so the base is not loose and lumpy...something which I have not done! is this true? does the spider prefer it? I know this sounds very trivial and probably doesn't matter but I want my girl to be as happy as possible.

Also when I bought her she had just shed and now isn't really interested in her food...is there a connection between these things or am I just being paranoid?

I'm really enjoying keeping my spider and would be really grateful if anyone had any other information that might help me through this learning stage. I've read a fair bit on the net but its those little things that always help more.

Thanks.

Originally posted by Huw Jones View Post
    Hi there,

as you probably guessed i am new to keeping tarantulas and i just have a few questions.

pretty much everything is going great so far but my Chilean Rose just seems to sit in one spot of her tank, i'm using potting soil given to me by the pet shop owner. I've read that the soil should be pressed flat and then left to dry out so the base is not loose and lumpy...something which I have not done! is this true? does the spider prefer it? I know this sounds very trivial and probably doesn't matter but I want my girl to be as happy as possible.

Also when I bought her she had just shed and now isn't really interested in her food...is there a connection between these things or am I just being paranoid?