Quick question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quick question...

Hey ladies and gents....another quick question about G. rosea. On a morning I've noticed mine is out of her retreat and sat either near a supplementary heatmat I have on the side of her terrarium or on top of her retreat...is this normal..?

Many thanks
    Cheers

Denny

Re-formed arachnophobic since Dec '09

sounds normal to me!
    Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars... Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
    -Martin Luther King Jr.

<-Black Metal Contra Mundum->
    My Collection: - Support captive breeding

Comment

I'm quite new to keeping tarantulas myself but I think this is normal. My first T was a Ahponopelma sp. New River; when I first got her (about 4 moths ago) she liked to stick by the small heat pad I have on the back of the tank, especially at colder times e.g. in the night and mornings. Now, however, she seems to have become acustomed to the slightly lower temp - i keep my room around 20-22 degrees C - and I hardly see her near the heat pad at all!

I think, as a rule of thumb, T's will generally sit wherever they feel most comfortable

Comment

can i just say you both have fantastic taste in spiders
        a pair of G rosea juves were my second lot of tarantulas...and Aphonopelma sp "New River" is just gorgeous

i guess i'd just say spiders will move around to warm up, cool down, get a drink, grab some food, etc.
        obviously going closer to the heatmat is an example of the first activity.
        I think, as a rule of thumb, T's will generally sit wherever they feel most comfortable
        ^^ that's the nail hit squarely on the head
        Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars... Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
        -Martin Luther King Jr.

Comment