Acanthoscurria geniculata male ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acanthoscurria geniculata male ??

Just a quick Question i'm hoping someone can answer for me.
    I have a male white knee here that was picked up from a rescue center and i would like if possible to make sure its a Acanthoscurria geniculata male so i can then try and mate him with my female i have.
    To me it looks like it is but i am not an expert at IDing a species but do try hard lol.
    So to the pics

He wasnt overly impressed with me taking pics as you can see

I hope the pics are gd enough to be able to ID him
    Thanx in advance
    Aaron

Aarons Collection:

Anybody want to confirm my thoughts or tell me how wrong i am lol ??

Aarons Collection:

Comment

i can't tell you what it is unfortunately, but looking at the BTS Theraphosidae gallery...sadly there isn't a male of A. geniculata present, but there is a pic of a male Nhandu chromatus, which looks superficially similar to yours.
      if your male isn't A. geniculata, my guess is that it'd be N. chromatus, as they are kinda similar looking, as far as the leg striping goes. the carapace and i think the length of the setea on the legs may be a difference to check.

here's one i googled for

just a guess, but to me yours looks a tad more like N. chromatus then it does A. geniculata
      Returning violence for violence multiplies violence, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars... Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.
      -Martin Luther King Jr.

<-Black Metal Contra Mundum->
      My Collection: - Support captive breeding

Comment

Cheers James i have been sent some pics of a male A.geniculata and looks similar but that has recently matured so looks alot brighter than the 1 i have so still unsure lol
        Aaron

Aarons Collection:

Comment

hopefully someone that knows a few characteristics of both will reply and help you clear it up!!