heating

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• heating

Hi, i'm new to the BTS. I'm setting up an old fish tank to start my T collection with either L. Parahybana, G. Aureostriata/Pulchripes or A. Chaclodes and was wondering about heating part of the enclosure. Would an aquarium heter surrounded by slate buried near the bottom of the substrate be ok or should i use a heat mat as suggested on many sites? Thanks in advance for any and all replies. A.

Hi Andrew, and welcome to the BTS

Aquarium heaters are designed to function when they are submerged in water. If you switch them on in air they tend to heat up too quickly, crack, and stop working. Look at getting a heatmat, perferably on a thermostat or a mat-stat, and go from there.

My Collection:

Comment

cheers phil, i did try it buried, without spiders of course, lol, it seemed to work but think i will go with the heatmat, which of the three Ts above would u suggest, i was thinking of the L. Para, would that be ok for a first one?, P.s. done nothing but read for the last month and a bit about them, want to get it right, ;o)
      Last edited by Andrew Grant; 09-04-10, 11:49 AM.

Comment

I think any of those would make a good first spider

My Collection:

Comment

cool, i'm kinda set on the salmon pink, planning on going to the BTS meet to see what i can pick up tho, i might see something that makes me change my mind!! Seriously doubt i'll only come home with one tho!!

Comment

Andrew, I know what you mean about not just getting one, we were only meant to be getting a GBB for my 3 year old daughter. We've just ordered our GBB sling and I'm getting a sub-adult A.Chalcodes. They haven't even arrived yet and Ive already got my eye on a G.Pulchra!