Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs help!

hey all!
    i am new to the arachnid world, and after reading about them for the last few months i have decided to buy a T!
    However before i jump myself into buying one....i thought i better get some advice from "experts" or ppl who already own them.

After reading about which begginer T is suitable i narrowed it down to these:
    1)Chilean Rose Tarantula - dont really like the colour....comes highly reccomended by other though.
    2)Curlyhair Tarantula - Again a rather universal colour...seems
    3)Aphonopelma bicoloratum AKA Mexican Bloodleg - LOVE the colour, heard it is rear on the market though.
    4)Brachypelma smithi - again love it...and is available readily...right?
    5)Brachypelma boehmei - jus looks so damn cool! heard it's skittish?
    6)Brachypelma emilia - love this too

i was wondering which T would you lot reccomend? taking into consideration of availabilty, looks, price (as it is my 1st, dont want to over do it) and generally how easy it is to look after.
    Hey also, do T's urinate and how do you clean up the substrate if it does. Also what type of texture is it's faeces? can you just pick it up or have to scoop it and clean the whole cage?
    From my knowledge you feed it insects...i plan to give it crickets...how do you store them? and what quantity do you buy them..? im from the UK - midlands, any shops recommended? or T's/cages/food and stuff....

I will appreciate all feeds!
    Kindest regards,

From your list I would recommend Brachypelma smithi if you're not too impressed with the others. They're an ideal first spider and in recent years have become more readily available (so shouldn't be too expensive either). Quite simple to look after once you get their set-up sorted.