Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie G. pulchripes (Chaco Golden Knee) Questions

Hello everyone,

Just got a Chaco Golden Knee female (I named her Zelda). From what my limited knowledge can discern I'd say she's young adult.

I'm new to the hobby and this is my first tarantula so naturally I've got some questions about whether or not I've been caring/accommodating her in the right way.

I've got her in a 5 gallon terrarium that's currently measuring ~76 degrees F and 70% humidity. Approximately 3 inches of substrate throughout the tank with the exception of the hiding place I got her, which has about 4 inches of substrate below it. For substrate I'm using dried out eco-earth. I have a small heating pad on the left side of the tank (the side with her water bowl). I got her on Saturday and the breeder told me she's been eating around 2-3 crickets two times a week; she told me to try and feed her today (tonight) and if she didn't eat any/all of the crickets take the live ones out after about 6 hours.

Right now she's sitting on the glass wall facing me and hasn't moved from that position for at least a few hours. Is this normal? My understanding tells me that it is.

Basically, I'm just wondering if this setup is alright and healthy for her. Will she be happy here? Is there anything I could do better? Are those conditions favorable for this species? My research tells me yes but I'd love to hear some of your thoughts and/or input. I've attached pictures of her taken yesterday afternoon.

Thanks,

-Simon

Click image for larger version

Name:	286855_2100529587997_1088130465_32178963_4233229_o.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	96151

Click image for larger version

Name:	286685_2100529908005_1088130465_32178964_2134072_o.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	14.5 KB
ID:	96152
    My Spiders:
    -Female
    Grammostola pulchripes (Named Zelda)