Selenocosmia Samarae!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selenocosmia Samarae!

hi guys, can you help me. i got a selenocosmia samarae about 1 inch DLS. i search the net and can't find any care sheet for her. she arrived on Wednesday. after that, she made a tent-like burrow made of coco-peat and web. i can't see what's happening inside. i drop a small cricket to her enclosure last night. when i look at it this morning the cricket turned into bolus.
    because i can't see her, i wonder if she will molt inside the tent-like burrow. can it be possible that she will undergo the molting process inside? help me guys. i'm just a beginner.
    she's my first tarantula, i cant afford to lose her.

kay tee

Hi Kay Tee
    it is unlikley you will find a specific care sheet for this spider. There are so many different species appearing in the hobby that it is advisable to use a simpler generic care sheet for your spider. In this case I would recomend using a care sheet for Selenocosmia in general. Also do a little reseach into the environment from where the species comes from. Ie the Phillipines. Temps, humidity at times of year etc.With regard to the spider webbing herself in. Dont panic. This is natural as in the wild they will spend most of the time coocooned within a silk lined burrow venturing out only at night to feed. She is obvioulsy eating as the cricket has been taken. Try not to worry too much as I am sure she will be fine.

Hope this helps

Ray Hale
    BTS Committee
    British Tarantula Society - Join today safe and secure online

[B]
    The 29th BTS Annual Exhibition
    On
    [B]Sunday 18th May 2014[B]

Comment