Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I be excited or nervous?

Hello fellow spider lovers!

Been a while since I was on here but I am in need of some pointers and maybe some sense

To cut a long story short, over the last few years I have bought 4 P. metallica slings. Out of the 4, one is definate female, 2 matured into males and 1 is still unknown (probably a male as I seem to have that luck recently!)

So, I know few people have had breeding success with them in the UK and I am a complete novice when it comes to breeding but I thought what have I got to lose?
    So, I threw (not literally, of course) one of the males in with the female for a few weeks. When the second matured, I swapped them.
    Late last year I realised I had not seen the female for some time and it appeared she had holed up in her bamboo tube.
    After another week or so I removed the male and there was still no sign of the female. She had closed up the top of her tube with web and that was that. I simply thought she was coming up to a moult so just left her alone.
    I can't remember the exact date she plugged herself in but it had to have been end of November, maybe earlier.
    I really didn't want to disturb her but was worried about her so one day in Jan I quietly lifted the bamboo out and checked. She was sat there looking very plump.
    Obviously this was quite exciting because she hadn't eaten (I don't think) for at least a month and yet she was looking quite portly. Anyway, I put the hide back and left her alone again.
    There's still no sign of her and I again dared to have a very quiet look today and she's now completely cocooned herself in as the bottom of the bamboo is webbed shut now, too.

So. What do you guys think? Gravid?