smithi b spiderling not eating

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• smithi b spiderling not eating

hi there i am new to tarantula keeping and have a smithi b spiderling ( aprox half inch leg span ) it is kept in a small pot aprox 2 inch x 2 inch i spray a little water on the inside of the tub once a week. i have placed the tub in a viv with a heat mat on the back but the tempreture dosent seem to get above 24 degrees. i have had the spider ( charlie ) as my daughter thought this was a good name as we dont know the sex for 4 weeks . i was told that it had eaten a week before i bought it but has not eaten since. i have been trying to feed it once a week with pin head crickets to no avail. i have tried live and dead crickets but it is not interested. i have read that spiderlings should eat once or twice a weak and i understand that it may be due to molt. it looks prety healthy and one third of its adbomen is black. should i just leave things as they are any advise would be gratefully recieved. thanks
    Last edited by sean grey; 24-05-12, 09:57 PM. Reason: spelling incorrect

Sean.
    It sounds to me like the simthi is in pre molt, as you have mentioned 3 quaters of the abdomen has got a dark spot.
    If it is in pre molt the simthi will start to produce a molting mat or it may have already done so. I would give it a couple of weeks with no food, but make sure that water is avalible for the smithi to drink.

Hope this helps craig

Comment

thanks craig .
      should i spray a little water on the side of the pot once a week or more often.
      also will the spiderling have hairs after it molts as at the moment it is very bald lol.
      also the temprature in the tank is between 74 and 80 degrees is this ok
      thanks sean
      Last edited by sean grey; 25-05-12, 02:54 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by sean grey View Post
        hi there i am new to tarantula keeping ...
        First,

WELCOME TO THE HOBBY!

WELCOME TO THIS FORUM!