Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How many of you keep your t`s on dry substrate?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How many of you keep your t`s on dry substrate?

Hello everyone! I`m new to this forum. From Sweden and I have been keeping t`s for about 6-7 years total now. Got about 50 species at the moment and growing.

I just wanted to hear with you "experts" how many of you keep tropical spiders dry with maybe only water dish? I have been keeping all my t`s , except desert spiders pretty moist always but I always get mold, fungus and sometimes even mites from food rests lying in moisture etc.. Now when the collection is getting bigger its hard to watch every enclouser every day just to see if there is mold or other problems. I am now going to dry everything out (juveniles and up), get more ventilation and see how they react to this. I talked to a big german dealer who had success and never problems with keeping all kind of t`s bone dry, and he doesn`t even use a water dishes! But I feel if the subsrate is dry atleast they should have access to fresh water , especially nearing a molt..

I`s humidity overrated and does it matter less when it`s CB spiders compared to WC? Does the rules change again when trying to breed and get sacs?

Thanks for answers!
    Last edited by Pekka Hiekkapelto; 26-05-12, 09:41 AM.

Originally posted by Pekka Hiekkapelto View Post
    Hello everyone! I`m new to this forum. ...
    Well! Welcome to this forum!

... I just wanted to hear with you "experts" how many of you keep tropical spiders dry with maybe only water dish? ...
    Perhaps this will be of interest to you.
    The Tarantula Whisperer!
    Stan Schultz
    Co-author, the TARANTULA KEEPER'S GUIDE
    Private messaging is turned OFF!
    Please E-mail me directly at schultz@ucalgary.ca

Comment

Bet he's glad he asked Stan.LOL

Good work my friend.

Ray Hale
      BTS Committee
      British Tarantula Society - Join today safe and secure online