Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Arboreal spiderlings: dimensions of enclosure

Hello,
    I'm a newbie from Denmark with some experience with adult and sub-adult New World ground species.

I have taken the leap and have recently purchased some spiderlings of Poecilotheria metallica and Avicularia versicolor from a German breeder. I will receive them in the end of July. Size of spiderlings (body lenght) is approximately 0.4" (1 cm).

I have a specific question regarding the best size of enclosures for these arboreal species. I have some plastic boxes (see photo) that I will equip with appropriate side and top ventilation using metal mesh. The dimensions of these boxes are 7.9" x 4.7" x 3.1" (H x W x D) or 20 cm x 12 cm x 8 cm. Are the dimensions suited for these arboreal species? Too tall or too small footprint?

I will appreciate any comment in relation to the enclosures or the mentioned spiderlings. Thanks!

Greetings,
    Dan

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1341410442.599113.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	96357

Hi Dan welcome to the forum

I have both species (8 x P metallica, 10 x A versicolor), both bought at the same size as yours.
    I have the versicolor in plastic vials approx size 3in x 2in (HxW) and the P metallica's in 6in x 3in.
    Obviously the bigger the better but with such small slings in comparatively large enclosures they may have difficulty in finding their prey (especially the versicolor) unless you tong feed them until they get larger.
    Just remember that to successfully keep most avics, ventilation, ventilation and more ventilation is the key, If you are not sure if you have enough ventilation . . .add more and more !!!