Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie G. Rosea help

Hi Guys.

I am new to the BTS and forums, and would like to ask a few questions regarding the care of my recently purchased, 3 year old female G Rosea.

I have issues regarding the state of her enclosure, and I was wondering if it is possible to perform a complete clean out?.
    When I collected her from the guy who sold her, I noticed he hadn't bothered to remove her exoskeleton and dried up live food leftovers. The inside of the glass and also around the rim of her drinking bowl appeared that they had not been cleaned for quite some time, possibly never. Therefore, I would like to know if it is ok to give the enclosure a completely new substrate and a new water bowl?
    I have just purchased a bag of Irish potting soil which has been cleaned and sieved to remove any impurities.

If it is possible to replace the existing substrate with new substrate, do I need a depth of 2 to 3 inches, or half fill the enclosure (which is a 5.5 Gallon glass tank)? I understand this species rarely burrows in captivity, but I am concerned about her climbing and falling.

Another confusion I seem to be facing is different information about where to correctly place the heat mat!! My mat is currently underneath the tank, but some say it's best to place the mat on the inside wall!!! which is best? I am however, noticing that the temperature will not raise above 72-74F, when I would prefer a temp of at least 75F. I am considering whether to place a thin layer of polystyrene underneath the tank to help hold some of the heat.

Just a couple more questions: I am using bottled water for topping up the drinking bowl instead of tap water, is this ok to use? Finally, Do I mist one end of the tank to keep humidity levels up, or should I just rely on the water bowl? I have read on many websites that some keepers do mist their tanks, and some are highly against misting.