Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Raising from baby

Hi All,
    More daft questions from a newbie. Me mam who is arachnophobic has just been to the exotic pet shop and agreed that tarantulas aren't really spiders at all, but rather beautiful. It seems I may be allowed to have one if I raise it from a spiderling. The shop has some about the size of my thumbnail. How difficult is it to raise one from that small ?
    Thanks

Depends on species. Different species have different growth rates. Some grow incredibly slowly like G.roseas or really fast like L.parahybana

Comment

Hello Paul.From my own personal point of view,I only began keeping Ts almost a year ago,so I am still a beginner.It is a fantastic hobby,and thoroughly enjoyable watching your little spiderling grow,and change.The best advice I could give you is to definitely get yourself a copy of the Tarantula Keepers' Guide and have a little read before you actually offer your little baby a home.It is the bible for the hobby.And,of course,keep asking questions or search the forums here.There is so much knowledge and extremely helpful members within the BTS which has helped me greatly,to the point where I now have 8 Ts which I have reared successfully from 1cm slings.I would suggest a Brachypelma Smithi as your first T ( I now have 2 ),however,I'm sure other members will have their own personal faves.All the very best Paul !! Welcome to the best hobby on earth

Comment

Originally posted by Paul Messenger View Post
        Hi All,
        More daft questions from a newbie. Me mam who is arachnophobic has just been to the exotic pet shop and agreed that tarantulas aren't really spiders at all, but rather beautiful. It seems I may be allowed to have one if I raise it from a spiderling. The shop has some about the size of my thumbnail. How difficult is it to raise one from that small ?
        Thanks
        Ah, ha! I detect a newbie!

WELCOME TO THE HOBBY!

WELCOME TO THIS FORUM!